Scroll To Top

California Hit & Run Attorneys

If you have been involved with a “hit and run” accident you have committed a serious crime.  If you have been arrested for “hit and run” and there is bodily injury you will be prosecuted for a felony.  Prosecutors, judges and jurors destest these acts.  You will be given little to no sympathy and the district attorney will likely throw the “book” at you. However, THE LAW OFFICES OF CASTILLO & ASSOCIATES has extensive experience and has obtained extordinary success in “hit and run” cases. Contact our office immediately to consult with Mr. Castillo.

Hit and Run – Sentencing and Punishment – California Vehicle Code 20001-20002

Hit and Run Causing Injury – California Vehicle Code 20001(b)(1)
A hit and run under California Vehicle Code 20001 is a “wobbler.” This means the prosecution has the discretion to charge hit and run as a misdemeanor or a felony.

A felony conviction for a person who was involved in a hit and run accident resulting in an injury to someone else can be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for up to four years, or a fine from one thousand dollars to ten thousand dollars ($1,000-$10,000), or by both a fine and imprisonment.

A misdemeanor conviction is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, or a fine from one thousand dollars to ten thousand dollars ($1,000-$10,000), or by both a fine and imprisonment.

Hit and Run Causing Death – California Vehicle Code 20001(b)(2)

A felony conviction for a person who was involved in a hit and run accident resulting in death or permanent or serious injury to someone else can be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for up to four years, or by a fine from one thousand dollars to ten thousand dollars ($1,000-$10,000), or by both a fine and imprisonment.

A misdemeanor conviction is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for a period between 90 days to one year, or by a fine of one thousand dollars to ten thousand dollars ($1,000-$10,000), or by both fine and imprisonment.

Hit and Run with Vehicular Manslaughter – California Vehicle Code 20001(c)

A person who flees the scene of the crime after committing vehicular manslaughter under Penal Code Section 191.5 or Section 192(c)(1), upon conviction of any of those sections, in addition and consecutive to the punishment prescribed, shall be punished by an additional term of imprisonment of five years in the state prison.

Hit and Run with Damage to Property – California Vehicle Code 20002

A person who is involved in an accident causing damage to someone else’s property and fails to notify the owner is guilty of a misdemeanor. The penalty under this section is imprisonment in the county jail for up to six months, or by a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both a fine and imprisonment.

 

Tell us about your case...

Your Name*
Your Email Address*
Verify Email Address*
Subject
Message*
This is a captcha-picture. It is used to prevent mass-access by robots. (see: www.captcha.net)

Please confirm that you are not a script by entering the letters from the image.